Pork & Zucchini Italian Meatloaf

The idea of putting zucchini in a meatloaf had never appealed to me a few years ago.  I don’t know why because I love it now!  It results in a more moist loaf and paired with the Parmesan cheese, it is delicious.  You will notice in the photos that I chop my zucchini in larger pieces but feel free to chop them more fine if you don’t enjoy the texture of the larger chunks.  Also, my husband and I really like the ground pork for this meatloaf but you can substitute ground beef if you wish.

Serves: 520160803_160021

Ingredients:

-3 Tbsp olive oil

-2 medium zucchini, chopped

-1 medium onion, chopped

-3 cloves garlic, crushed

-1 1/2 lb ground pork or beef20160803_161132

-1 egg

-3/4 c Parmesan cheese, grated

-parsley to taste

-salt & pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Saute zucchini, onion and garlic in oil for 7-8 minutes.  Allow zucchini mixture to cool.

In a separate bowl mix the pork, egg, cheese, parsley, salt & pepper.  Add the zucchini and mix together.  Put the whole mixture into a loaf pan and bake for 75-90 minutes until the juices run clear.

20160803_173143

 

